A Message From the Executive Director

Welcome to the MSBOA Website!

 

The Michigan School Band and Orchestra Association has been serving the schools of Michigan since 1934.


For 88 years MSBOA has provided numerous student oriented activities such as festivals, workshops and teacher in-service functions at both the district and state levels.


The Michigan School Band and Orchestra Association is a non-profit 501 (c) (3) organization dedicated to improving instrumental music in the State of Michigan.


MSBOA is organized in regional-district associations in both peninsulas, serving over 1,500 public, parochial and private schools. MSBOA consists of more than 1,600 instrumental music teachers certified by the State of Michigan to teach music education in our schools.


MSBOA is controlled at the State level by an Executive Board and the Presidents of our 16 geographical Districts. Three times a school year, this body meets to determine and discuss various topics that lead the Association, in such a way, as to ensure the continuing growth of MSBOA and instrumental music. 


As Executive Director it is my pleasure and honor to serve the membership of MSBOA.  


Please visit the many areas of our website and become informed as to the activities of MSBOA.


Musically yours,



Garret M. Ernst

Executive Director

Directory

State Cabinet

Matthew Shephard President matthew.shephard@merps.org
Heidi Schlosser Vice President Band and Orchestra schlosserh@bcschools.net
Jeanine Ignash Vice President Solo and Ensemble jeanine.ignash@ovidelsie.org
R. Scott Adkins Vice President Jazz Activities rscottadkins@gmail.com
Merlyn Beard Vice President Orchestral Activities beardm01@gmail.com
Greg VanStrien Vice President Adjudication
gvanstrien@capsk12.org  
Cheryl Thomas Vice President Music Selecton cthomas@trschools.org
Gregory Holt Secretary/Treasurer gholt@mywwps.org
Greg Normandin 1st Past President gnormandin@catholiccentral.net
Kevin Culling 2nd Past President culling.kevin@gmail.com

State Office

Garret Ernst Executive Director gernst@msboa.org
MaryAnn Sullivan Administrative Assistant msullivan@msboa.org
Loretta Thelen Office Staff lthelen@msboa.org

District Presidents

Andrea Mack District 1 President aem6767@gmail.com
Jessica Tippett District 2 President jtippett@mancelonaschools.org
Aaron Aikens District 3 President aikensa@think-usa.org
rntaylor@clarkston.k12.mi.us
Ross Taylor District 4 President
Eric Clauder District 5 President eclauder@fmuthschools.com
Tianna Doe District 6 President tdoe@bangorvikings.org
Emma Greenwood District 7 President greenwoode@mapsk12.org
Joe McInchak District 8 President jmcinchak@tps.k12.mi.us
Jason Lowe District 9 President cpsbands@gmail.com
Carol Johnson District 10 President cjohnson@jpsonline.org
Bryan VanToll District 11 President bjvantoll@portageps.org
Heather Wickman District 12 President hwickman@livoniapublicschools.org
Jessica Kietzman District 13 President jessicak@eupschools.org
Robert Miller District 14 President rmiller@eskymos.com
Maritza Garibay District 15 President maritza.garibay@detroitk12.org
Scott Corpuz District 16 President scorpuz@mywwps.org