The Michigan School Band and Orchestra Association is greatly aided by the work of numerous committees. Please contact the chair person of any committee with your questions, suggestions, and concerns.

ALL-STATE COMMITTEE:  Coordinates the MSBOA All-State Program and serves as the MSBOA representative for the Michigan Music Conference. 

Chair: Joel Shaner  joel.shaner@jpsk12.org

BUDGET AND FINANCE COMMITTEE: Analyzes the financial position of the Association. 

Chair: Gregory Holt   gholt@mywwps.org

COMMITTEE FOR EQUITY: Creates a fair and equitable educational experience in music by providing detailed suggestions and proposals to the MSBOA State Executive Board.

Chairs: Sean Patton  sean.patton@detroitk12.org  and Alan Posner  alfposner@gmail.com

CONDUCTING SYMPOSIUM COMMITTEE: Organizes a workshop where directors work under the tutelage of master conductors as part of the Michigan Music Conference.                         

Chair: Mark Stice    mark.stice@okemosk12.net

FESTIVAL IMPROVEMENTS COMMITTEE: Considers and proposes changes in festival rules and procedures.

Chair: Allman Todd    atodd@brps.org

FUTURE PLANNING COMMITTEE: Provides possible directions for future inprovement of the Association.

Chair: Kevin Culling  culling.kevin@gmail.com

HONORARY AND EMERITUS ACTIVITIES COMMITTEE: Implements the procedure to recognize and honor retired instrumental music instructors as Members Emeritus and awards Honorary status to noted individuals that provide educational services to the MSBOA membership.

Chair: Jon Nichols    doctorjon85@aol.com

MICHIGAN MUSIC CONFERENCE COMMITTEE: Coordinates involvement in the Michigan Music Conference in Grand Rapids.

Chair: Greg Normandin    gnormandin@catholiccentral.net

MUSIC COMMISIONING PROJECT COMMITTEE Oversees the commisioning of new musical works for the MSBOA. 

Chair: Robert Ash   ashr@aaps.k12.mi.us

MUSIC EDUCATION WORKSHOP COMMITTEE: Organizes two annual meetings of all state offices, district presidents, and other representatives to consider questions of music education. This long-standing committee has produced the excellent MSBOA Handbook series. 

Chair: Spiros Xydas   sxydas2@troy.k12.mi.us 

MUSIC TECHNOLOGY COMMITTEE: Promotes education of computer music issues and creates a music workshop for members as a part of the Michigan Music Conference.  

Chair: Nicholas Hardy   nicholas@elysiumexp.com

ONLINE FESTIVAL SCHEDULING ADVISORY COMMITTEE: Supports District Vice Presidents with online festival scheduling.                         

Chair: Heidi Schlosser    schlosserh@bcschools.net

POLICY STUDY COMMITTEE: Deals with all questions in the area, such as district transfer, extra curricular tips by musical groups and special adjudication. 

Chair:  Greg Normandin    gnormandin@catholiccentral.net

SPRING HONORS FESTIVAL COMMITTEE: Organizes the annual MSBOA Spring Honors Festival with an Honors Band, Honors Orchestra, Honors Jazz Ensemble and Outstanding Soloists and Ensembles.

Chairs:  Jo Ann Gross  joagross@gmail.com  and  Merlyn Beard  beardm01@gmail.com

UPPER PENINSULA COMMITTEE: Formed to coordinate MSBOA Upper and Lower Peninsula activities and to encourage participation in the MSBOA. 

Chair: Laura Robinson   laura@eskymos.com