The Michigan School Band and Orchestra Association is greatly aided by the work of numerous committees. Please contact the chair person of any committee with your questions, suggestions, and concerns.

 

ALL-STATE COMMITTEE: Oversees band, orchestra and jazz blind recorded auditions and serves as a MSBOA representative for the Michigan Music Conference. 

Chair: Joel Shaner   jshaner@jpsmail.org

BUDGET AND FINANCE COMMITTEE: Prepares an annual budget and analyzes financial position. Makes recommendations to the Executive Board. 

Chair: Greg VanStrien   greg@vanstrien.us

CONDUCTING SYMPOSIUM COMMITTEE: Organizes a workshop where directors work under the tutelage of master conductors as part of the Michigan Music Conference.                         

Chair: Mark Stice    mark.stice@okemosschools.net

DIRECTOR DEVELOPMENT DAYS COMMITTEE: Organizes the annual Director Development Days for early career directors.  

Chair: Jeff Cutter   cutterjeff@hotmail.com

FESTIVAL IMPROVEMENTS COMMITTEE: Considers and proposes changes in festival rules and procedures.

Chair: Merlyn Beard   beard01@gmail.com

FUTURE PLANNING COMMITTEE: Projects the future of MSBOA and provides possible directions.

Chair: Joel Shaner   jshaner@jpsmail.org  

HONORARY AND EMERITUS ACTIVITIES COMMITTEE: Implements the procedure to recognize and honor retired instrumental music instructors as Members Emeritus and awards Honorary status to noted individuals that provide educational services to the MSBOA membership.

Chair: Jon Nichols    doctorjon85@aol.com

MICHIGAN MUSIC CONFERENCE COMMITTEE: Coordinates involvement in the Michigan Music Conference in Grand Rapids.

Chair: Jo Ann Gross joagross@gmail.com

MICHIGAN YOUTH ARTS FESTIVAL COMMITTEE: Organizes an annual Michigan Youth Arts Festival with an Honors Band, Honors Orchestra, Honors Jazz Ensemble and outstanding soloists and ensembles.                  

Chair: Paul DeRubeis    derubeispaul@gmail.com

MUSIC COMMISSIONING PROJECT COMMITTEE: Oversees the commisioning of new musical works for the MSBOA. 

Chair: Stacie Detgen   detgens@charlottenet.org

MUSIC EDUCATION WORKSHOP COMMITTEE: Organizes two annual meetings of all state offices, district presidents, and other representatives to consider questions of music education. This long-standing committee has produced the excellent MSBOA Handbook series. 

Chair: Spiros Xydas   sxydas2@troy.k12.mi.us 

MUSIC TECHNOLOGY COMMITTEE: Promotes education of computer music issues and creates a music workshop for members as a part of the Michigan Music Conference.  

Chair: Nicholas Hardy   nicholas@elysiumexp.com

POLICY STUDY COMMITTEE: Deals with all questions in the area, such as distrcit transfer, extra curricular tips by musical groups and special adjudication. 

Chair:  Jo Ann Gross  joagross@gmail.com

UPPER PENINSULA COMMITTEE: Formed to coordinate MSBOA Upper and Lower Peninsula activities and to encourage participation in MSBOA. 

Chair: Laura Robinson   laura@eskymos.com